The Ghost Hunter Store

Today on this very blustery day, I took a trip to Mt. Holly to visit the Ghost Hunter Store, which is the only store that sells paranormal equipment in the country!  The trip was very dangerous since my teeny car gets blown off course by the wind very easily, but after I parked the car it was great!

During my visit, I met Lee Perley, who manages the store, is a member of the South Jersey Ghost Research group, and was full to the brim of information.  He showed all of the different equipment that paranormal investigators typically use during cases.  The piece that particularly interested me was this EMF detector.

An EMF detector is used to read the electro magnetic energy, something ghosts are supposed to give off, in a room.  This model does that as well as shows the current temperature in the room, sounds an alarm if a cluster of electro magnetic energy comes too close, and the antenna emits its own magnetic field, which is energy ghosts can use.

Unfortunately, this piece of equipment costs close to $2oo, so I had to leave the store without it.  I did, however, buy a book, Ghost Research 101: Investigating Haunted Homes by Dave Juliano (the director of the South Jersey Research group and owner of the Ghost Hunter Store), that I think will be very helpful during my research.  It covers everything from types of hauntings and spirits, explanations and breakdown of the equipment used during cases, psychic investigator, and so much more.

While chatting with Lee at the store, I mentioned that I had submitted my application to join the South Jersey Ghost Research group, and he said that I should be hearing back from them shortly.  Hopefully I’ll be offered an invitation to be interviewed, and if I’m accepted I’ll begin the 9 week intensive training course to become a licensed paranormal investigator.  Did I mention the training will take place in haunted locations?  I’m excited!

That’s the latest on the research front.  I’m also trying to gather books and journal articles pertaining to ghost hunting and paranormal investigating.  If anybody has any suggestion, please share!

7 Responses to “The Ghost Hunter Store”

  1. Wow! That’s awesome! (Props to you, driving on a day like this).

    You have guts that I definitely don’t. I’m so eager to read more of your research.

  2. That is extremely awesome!! Not only did you gain a wealth of valuable research in the form of contacts, info, books and hands on equipment introductions, but you also paved the way for a very interesting potential avenue for future stories. I’ve read some of your other work and I know that you have a genuine interest in this theme and genre. I may be picking your brain concerning your research both now, as an interested party, and later, as an interested writer. I can’t wait to see how your training unfolds, especially in haunted locations. You are going to have so much information you are not going to know what to do with it!! I am also going to share this blog with my future sister-in-law who has an interest in this subject as well.

    Good job, Jule! Keep us informed. Are you allowed to shoot video during your field research?

  3. Wow that sounds like a very productive excursion! i’m so jealous of the training you get to do. you picked a great topic. hopefully you won’t have nightmares after it’s all over! i’m interested to know about that piece of equipment you were talking about. I wonder how much research has been done on it’s effectiveness. that’s an awful lot of money to spend for something that doesn’t work.

  4. Thats great! Heres hoping you get your license 🙂 I’ve been looking into doing this with some of my friends, is there any equipment you would particularly recommend? I have found another site with information on equipment http://www.hauntedhovel.com/ghosthuntingequipment.html it’s great for getting started from too

    • I would recommend getting a very basic EMF detector to start out with and maybe a digital voice recorder. The voice recorders basic EMF detectors are pretty cheap, but if you and your friends are really serious about ghost hunting, you might try to visit a ghost hunting store. Most of the people who run the store also have some sort of ghost hunting agency attached to it. They would be able to give you some tips about getting started too. Good luck with your investigations!

Trackbacks

Leave a comment