Archive for March 31st, 2011

March 31, 2011

Pre-Interview Notes: Michael

This week I sent out interview questions via email to Michael Clark, co-founder, co-host, editor, and executive producer of Ghost Guys, a web-based paranormal investigation show, currently featured on YouTube and GetFanged.com, looking to become a nationally syndicated show.  In addition to the work he’s done on Ghost Guys, Michael also founded the Hamilton Paranormal Society, which uses the latest scientific methods, historical research, eyewitness accounts, and technology to try to capture evidences supporting the existence of the paranormal.  Michael’s combination of more than 20 years worth of experience with science and technology and 15 years of studying religion and spirituality made me curious about his views of the paranormal; hence why after connecting with him on Twitter, I wanted to interview him.

As Chris Mann and Fiona Stewart mention in their chapter entitled “Internet Interviewing” featured in Postmodern Interviewing ed. by Jaber F Gubrium and James A. Holstein, “CMC (computer-mediated communication)…allowed researchers…to reach people who would have been unable to participate face-to-face…” (p. 83).  Twitter has really allowed me to expand my research by connecting me to people I would have never met otherwise.  So thanks to Twitter, I was able to meet, speak with, and set up an interview with Michael without ever meeting him face-to-face.  I’ll admit, at first I was a little wary of using Twitter as part of my research, but two of my interviews would not have been possible otherwise.

My interview questions largely focus on Michael’s attempt to get sponsorship and advertisers in order to transform Ghost Guys into a television show, and on the ever-expanding world of paranormal shows (which of the paranormal investigation shows does he think does the best job of producing evidence and portraying the lives of ghost hunter) and technology, particularly how he chooses the equipment with which he wants to work.  In addition, I’m also hoping to find out how Michael became interested in the paranormal and what is driving him and his research.  I’m also curious about the process of putting each episode (webisode?) of Ghost Guys together, so I hope to find out more about that as well.

I’m excited to hear what he has to say!